Lionel Messi wins Ballon d'Or 2019 in Paris

Lionel Messi has won the Ballon d'Or 2019 for a record sixth time at a ceremony in Paris.

The Barcelona star scooped the prize ahead of Virgil van Dijk, Cristiano Ronaldo and Sadio Mane, who finished in fourth place.

Messi edges ahead of five-time winner Ronaldo following victories in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2015.

“Ten years ago I received my first Ballon d’Or, guided by my three brothers,” Messi told the audience. “Today I receive my sixth, guided by my wife and children.”