Tiger Spice

Tiger Spice

Breaking News

Amosun names Model College after Sir Olaniwun Ajayi

Ogun State Governor, Senator Ibikunle Amosun, on Tuesday, named the Model College in Isara Remo area of the state after the late Yoruba icon and Afenifere chieftain, Sir Olaniwun Ajayi.

Governor Amosun made this disclosure at the farewell and commendation program held for Sir Olaniwun Ajayi by the state government at the Sagamu-Abeokuta interchange.

The governor said the Remo Model College would be the fourth of such schools to be named after eminent citizens of the state.

Model Colleges at Ikenne, Sagamu and Ewekoro areas of the state were named after Mama HID Awolowo, Prof. Theophillus Ogunlesi and Dr. Akin Ogungbola respectively.

The Governor enjoined all to emulate the virtues and legacies left behind by the late Sir Ajayi.

He said Sir Ajayi's life and death is a great lesson to the younger generation while describing him as a legal colossus who was never tired of standing for the truth.

"His words of wisdom and insightful sagacity will be sorely missed at a time like this when the Yoruba race is working to foster unity and integration," Amosun said.

Governor Amosun further disclosed that Sir Olaniwun Ajayi fully espoused the ideal and principles of the late sage, Chief Obafemi Awolowo adding that his death is a huge loss to Ogun State and an irreparable loss to Nigeria.

Responding on behalf of the family, Dr. Ola Ajayi, the oldest son of the deceased, appreciated the state government for the support given to the family since the demise of their father.

Dignitaries present at the event include are Afenifere Chieftains such as Second Republic Senator, Prof. Banji Akintoye, first professor of medicine in Nigeria, Prof. Theophillus Ogunlesi, an elder statesman, Prof. Biyi Afonja, Afenifere leader, Pa Ayo Adebanjo, former Governor of Kwara State, Chief Cornelius Adebayo, former gubernatorial aspirant in Lagos State, Mr. Jimi Agbaje, son of Pa Adekunle Ajasin, Tokunbo Ajasin, Ambassador Dosunmu Awolowo, Speaker, Ogun State House of Assembly, Rt. Hon. Adekunbi Suraj and members of the Ogun State Executive Council among others.

No comments