Tiger Spice

Tiger Spice

Breaking News

Former Bayelsa Gov. Sylva Wins APC Primaries

The former Bayelsa State Governor, Timipre Sylva, on Wednesday effortlessly won the All Progressive Party Congress (APC) primary election for Bayelsa State to emerge as candidate for the December 5th, poll. His victory comes hours after his archrival, Timi Alaibe, withdrew from the contest.

The former Governor scored 981 votes to win the ticket, beating Mr. Godknows Powel who received 39 votes to be the first runner-up. Mr Wallman Agoriba scored 28 votes and secured third place.

Announcing the results at APC secretariat in Yenagoa was Mansur Alli, Chairman of the Electoral Committee for Bayelsa State. He also said that a total of 1,147 delegates were accredited for the primary election.

According to Mr. Alli, "out of 1,147 accredited delegates for the primary election Mr Timipre Sylva scored 981 to win over the 18 other aspirants who participated.”

"On the result, five aspirants scored zero, 1,120 votes were validated and 27 votes were voided in the election," he added.

Culled from Saharareporters

No comments